the race

i haven’t been following the pres. race very much lately so i don’t know who is considered “ahead”. i wouldn’t even vote strictly “democrat” just for the sake of someone being democrat. the acceptance of science is a big issue for me, however. obama has been the most pro-science in my eyes (accepts evolution, and does not accept the psuedo-scientific idea that vaccinations have a link with the increase in diagnoses of down syndrome children). hillary also appears to be pro science, but obama has seemed a little more knowledgeable in this area. obama and hillary are both christian, which is fine, but obama was raised by a secular humanist mom (which i am, except the “mom” part). the debate on health care sounds like rhetoric to me and i think that our system is decent as is now. i don’t think that other countries have it much better. i’ve spoken to a lot of people from london, for example, and they hate the free health care offered- in order to get a decent doc “you need to have private health care” which, once again, is going to cost you (just like it costs us today).
my mom thought it was admirable how i have health care for my family and how we can go to the doc or dentist whenever we want. my parents really needed health care when my dad had a heart attack (he waited 8 hours while his heart slowly lost the use of one or two arteries forever more as he waited- and the reason he waited was because he almost would rather die than go to the hospital w/out insurance- yes, he had even written his dying words and will to his family before deciding to go to the emergency room!).
the thing is, my parents could pay for health insurance. if you can afford to give 10% of your income to a rich church, you could better use that same money to care for the health of your family and spouse. i wonder how many other families in the church have opted to get medical attention because that part of their income was already allotted to their “spiritual insurance”.
anyways, i thought that the following was interesting and a pertinent strategy to look at the upcoming elections. from The Ostroy Report, Thoughts on Pennsylvania, Clinton and Obama from a “Realisticrat. He writes:
Ok, so I’m going out on a limb here. I am a Hillary Clinton supporter, but as I’ve stated in the past, not by much. I support Clinton because I belong to that little-known political party: Realisticrats. Realisticrats never fall in love with a candidate. We fall in love with winning. We start at the end–the actual election–and work our backwards from there in choosing the candidate who has the best chance at victory. I don’t rally around anyone unless they look, smell and act like a winner. I belong to no “team.” A reporter once jabbed basketball legend Michael Jordon about his his ego and style of play with “Hey Michael, there’s no “I” in team”….His Airness responded with the brilliant, “that’s right, but there is in ‘win’.” It’s all about winning. And while I actually prefer to see Sen. Barack Obama become our 44th president, and think he would be much better for the country at this critical military, economic and social crossroads, I firmly believe Clinton is the more electable candidate against the GOP’s presumptive nominee Sen. John McCain and the Ruthless Republican Attack Machine (RRAM).
and this from OGM:
Obama, in order to achieve the historic presidential greatness that might one day be his destiny, needs to first get past the supreme ugliness that he faces with the RRAM. And I am as confident as a caterpillar at a toe-countin’ contest that McCain & Company will eat him alive in the general election. He has unfortunately armed the RRAM with way too much ammunition involving his Rev. Wright, Tony Rezko, William Ayers, flag pin, BitterGate and Michelle’s “pride” controversies. Throw in the inescapable fact that he’s a 46-year-young black man with a Muslim name, a drug past and just three years experience in the Senate and the picture deeply worsens. Now before I continue, don’t shoot the messenger. I personally don’t care about any of this nonsense, but you can bet your ass the RRAM is salivating as we speak. If you believe otherwise, you are beyond naive. I’ve taken a lot of heat over the past several months over this position. But I am not in the politically-correct business. Remember, I’m a Realisticrat. My only goal is to win.
One thought on “the race

  1. Bush has f up the nation so bad I don’t even watch the news anymore. Humpty is broken and i fear we are sol no matter who takes over. So I am voting for Obama, cause at least he can say it well.

Leave a Reply

