ummmm… brag, much?

Joseph Smith with Sword

Joseph Smith is quoted in the History of the Church (official church history of the LDS/Mormons) as saying:

I, like Paul, have been in perils, and oftener than anyone in this generation. As Paul boasted,* I have suffered more than Paul did. I should be like a fish out of water, if I were out of persecutions. Perhaps my brethren think it requires all this to keep me humble. The Lord has constituted me so curiously that I glory in persecution. I am not nearly so humble as if I were not persecuted…

Come on! ye prosecutors! ye false swearers! All hell, boil over! Ye burning mountains, roll down your lava! for I will come out on the top at last. I have more to boast of than ever any man had. I am the only man that has ever been able to keep a whole church together since the days of Adam. A large majority of the whole have stood by me. Neither Paul, John, Peter, nor Jesus ever did it. I boast that no man ever did such a work as I. The followers of Jesus ran away from Him; but the Latter-day Saints never ran away from me yet. You know my daily walk and conversation. I am in the bosom of a virtuous and good people. How I do love to hear the wolves howl! When they can get rid of me, the devil will also go. (History of the Church, 6:408-409)

* [Paul’s boasting, which he calls foolish and “talking like a madman,” is found in 2 Corinthians 11. Paul ends his “boasting” with these words: “If I must boast, I will boast of the things that show my weakness.” ]

(quote and picture from this post)

2 thoughts on “ummmm… brag, much?

  1. “… I glory in persecution”

    And thus the mormon meta-mind such that 0 persecution = ain’t trying hard enough to annoy other folks.

    And all that stuff about being better than Paul and Jesus … yeah, people hated JS because he was the humble, righteous, servant of god.

    Thanks, Mark. Amazing. To think that it’s all in History of the Church and no one bothers to read it. Though, I’m pretty sure that if I’d read it when I believed it would have strengthened by testimony of the divinity of JS.

Leave a Reply

