Soon-to-be Hot Issue: Real I.D. Act

Update: Apparently, this bill has passed. Here is Utah’s attempt at opposing it.

I usually don’t care much about politics, and with that kind of attitude I don’t put much thought into my own civil rights, either (besides obvious things like seperation of church and state). But here at Dell, where I work doing tech support, my friend David keeps pushing me onto the Rob Paul videos on the net, his (Paul’s) libertarian views, and this recent article which I was reading just now. It’s on the Real ID Act which is a [bill?] that if passed will put radio-emitting tags either in everyone’s legal i.d’s or maybe even in their soon-to-be-communist skin. Actually it’s kind of weird because just a couple of years ago I was such a different person in my views/beliefs. For example: Driving home from work everyday I didn’t even know what Podcasts were. My then-listening preferences were to tune into the FM dial and listen to Mr. “Liberalism is a Mental Disease” Michael Savage (whose real name, I later found out, is Michael Weiner… Not that there’s anything wrong with that…last name… It’s just not “Savage“). So I would drive home everyday reconfirming my own conservative anti-liberalism with Mike Weiner at 7 p.m. in the evenings. To look back on that and think of where I am now on the spectrum (ie “GO LEFT!! GO FAAAR LEFT!”) is pretty surreal to me. I even have weiner’s books on my Amazon Wish List ’til today. So it’s pretty crazy to see me go from conservative right to liberal lefty, returned missionary homophobic religous-supremist to humanist. For all that to happen in just a couple of years is a trip to me. So what I’m getting at with all that (coming back from the tangent, now), is that this whole Real ID Act thingy may not be a good idea. Check out these excerpts from Presidential candidate Ron Paul’s take on the whole thing:

Real ID Act Will Make America a Police State. I rise in strong opposition to HR 418, the REAL ID Act. This bill purports to make us safer from terrorists who may sneak into the United States, and from other illegal immigrants. While I agree that these issues are of vital importance, this bill will do very little to make us more secure.It will not address our real vulnerabilities. It will, however, make us much less free. In reality, this bill is a Trojan horse. It pretends to offer desperately needed border control in order to stampede Americans into sacrificing what is uniquely American: our constitutionally protected liberty.The REAL ID Act establishes a national ID card by mandating that states include certain minimum identification standards on driver´s licenses. It contains no limits on the government´s power to impose additional standards. Supporters claim it is not a national ID because it is voluntary. However, any state that opts out will automatically make non-persons out of its citizens.The citizens of that state will be unable to have any dealings with the federal government because their ID will not be accepted. They will not be able to fly or to take a train. In essence, in the eyes of the federal government they will cease to exist. It is absurd to call this voluntary.

For more of this article click here.

Leave a Reply

