My New Bible

Okay maybe I can’t call my new book “my new Bible”, mostly because I am reading this much more than I did the Bible. It’s been so exciting to have been learning so much from the Skeptic community over the past few months. I have listened to almost all of the podcasts from The Skeptic’s Guide to the Universe, and several from Skepticality. More recently, I have watched Penn & Teller’s B.S. (by the way, did you know that Recycling is B.S.?), and purchased the following skeptical books: Why People Believe Weird Things, The Wisdom of Crowds, The Demon-Haunted World, How We Know What Isn’t So, and The Skeptic’s Dictionary. The latter is a book that I think I just might carry around with me for some time. Many things I have wondered about or been skeptical about, myself, are covered in this handy book. Last night I read these topics (which are available online as well, so I’ve provided links):

I love the feeling of “being armed as a Skeptic” (even though I still have a lot to learn, of course). I think the logical fallocies mentioned above as well as others are the most valuable tools I’ve learned so far. Out of everything I’ve learned, perhaps the most interesting has been to see the logical fallocies in my own belief patterns and world-view in the LDS/Mormon Church. It has been very eye-opening to say the least. Big props to Bob McCue for turning me on to the Skeptical community several months ago! Thanks!

2 thoughts on “My New Bible

Leave a Reply

