British scientists have just confirmed a link between head size and intelligence

A recent study has shown that the bigger a baby’s head at birth, the more intelligent he or she turns out to be!

This is still just a theory, however in the latest issue of Paediatrics there is a study that plots the head size of more than 600 babies, at birth and regular intervals thereafter, against IQ. The findings are startling. The bigger a baby’s head at birth, the more intelligent he or she turns out to be. An even better predictor of later intelligence was how much a baby’s head grew before the age of one.

Late pregnancy and early infancy are the best growing seasons for brains: after that, growth slows down drastically. British researchers are now redirecting their efforts on how best to help a baby’s head grow, as if it were a prize marrow.When we imagine the classic (super-intelligent) alien, it has a gigantic head. Could we eventually evolve into something like that?

I personally wonder how drastic the varience in cranium size was shown in the tests- an inch, two?  Do these findings indicate that that guy in front of you in the movie theater may be a genius?

Click here to read the full article.

8 thoughts on “British scientists have just confirmed a link between head size and intelligence

  1. I have an enormous disproportionately large head (even for my height) yet I am not that intelligent apparently. What a surprise, or maybe I just don’t apply myself enough?

  2. This was not exactly a shocker. I doubt nutrition or whatever can make a very big difference in western societies though. We’ll have to wait patiently til we learn how to modify our DNA 😉

  3. My daughter has a fairly small head and face (she is petite all around). She is smarter and more creative than her brother, whose head is about 1.5 times bigger.

    • Ah that made me feel better. My daughter is year and a half – has small head and she is petite too… This article made me so worried, hopefully,she will turn out to be as bright as your little girl!

  4. i had a huge head when i was a baby. today everyone i know(in my age group) consider me the most intelligent person they have meet(even adults tell me that they wish they had my brain when they were my age)… and many cannot even keep a conversation because of how my brain works. i find myself loosing my friends these days because of their lack of intellect and basic fundamental common sense.

  5. Pingback: The Origins of Alien & Human Races

Leave a Reply

